Yeah, yeah Social Media is everywhere, but what about me?

           Image

          I think the big takeaway for the readings this week is the challenge to look at our individual lives and recognize the way social media has bridged the gap between us and our constituents.  As one article pointed out, this change can be evidenced in something as fundamental as an understanding the impact of our social media presence in terms of applying for a new job, or it can be much more complex and involve changing the terms within which major journalism outlets acquire information.  As students of social media, we need to find where the impact of social media affects us and acknowledge that impact as we move forward. 

            Social media is a powerful tool, and as brand owners, we have to decide how the platform can best suit our needs.  One of the readings this asked if social media is advertising or PR and broke down the ways the platform could actually be both.  In fact, while it would make sense to assume that social media is pre-dominantly concerned with the PR aspect of business, the article points out the fact that more and more people are using social media to be aware of new products and promotions.  As a brand, we have to decide what the central mission of our social media efforts will be and who is responsible for maintaining the brand while being a presence on social media.  As another article pointed out, this decision is not one that can be “given away” to a qualified social media expert.  The brand has to be unique to the company and efforts should reflect the company in addition to the social media content creator. 

            Social media has also changed the way users acquire journalistic-type information.  Many people say they no longer trust major news platforms and actually prefer to read over major stories from social media sites.  As social media students, we have to understand the impact of this mentality and adapt our strategies based on that knowledge.  Journalists now have to find their own place within the social media world while still maintaining some of the guidelines and principals linked previously.  (accompanying infographic)

Where is your place in social media?  How does the platform impact your daily operations?

Do you have more than one social media account for different “versions” of yourself?

Is journalistic integrity at risk in the paradigm shift of social media importance?

7 thoughts on “Yeah, yeah Social Media is everywhere, but what about me?

  1. Social media greatly impacts me. I’ve become very addicted to it and feel I’m missing out when I’m not checking each platform I use. This obviously greatly impacts my daily life, as I’m always connected.

    I do not create different versions of myself. I definitely censor myself on certain platforms because I’ve chosen to allow work colleagues and industry professionals to connect with me. I can’t always say what I want to say but that’s a good thing.

    Social media brings a new element to reporting news. A lot of not completely true news can get reported quickly on social media and then spread virally. I think people will catch on to this and start reading breaking news on social media and not completely take it to heart until they can research the whole situation themselves through further developed news stories.

  2. Social media impacts every professional decision I make. This might sound hyperbolic, but it’s really not. Before I write a story or design a graphic, I consider how people will respond via social media. Will this layout work well on Twitter and Facebook? Or do we have to do two separate graphics. Personally, my interactions with social media have gradually become less formal. People like personality, they like feeling as though they know the people they follow and formality is no way to achieve that.

    I do actually have a twitter account that I refer to as my “undergrad” account. It has never been public and will never be public. In fact, I rarely use it at this point. However, when I have an “undergrad” moment, it’s nice to have a place where I can express those thoughts.

    Journalistic integrity is at a huge risk with social media. People try harder to be first than they do to be right. Everyone just wants to get attention on social media. Journalists have to allow themselves to relax and take time to ensure they are right before they post. Because if they post false information, nobody cares who was first.

  3. Hi Jake!

    In my current position, social media does not have impact my daily operation nor do I have multiple social accounts for different “versions” of me.

    The company and department I work for are very active on social media; however, that activity is not directly associated with my current role.

    I don’t necessarily see journalistic integrity being at risk with this “new” way of journalism. I think that it does call for a shift in how we approach our information gathering and writing. Checking your facts and sources have always been important, but even more so now that citizens have the real possibility of influencing real news stories. It’s more about embracing the new way of doing things and not losing sight of those important core journalism skills than being scared of change.

    -Lacee

  4. Even if I were not on social media personally, I would be on social media every workday. Scheduling posts and keeping tabs on my outlet’s social media platforms is a core function of my job. The only time I was totally disconnected from social media was when I was on a cruise and my phone’s Internet would have cost money to use. It was kind of nice to have that break.

    I am just one me on social media. More than one profile for everything would be just too exhausting to keep up with. The personal me and the professional me overlap, so I try to keep that in mind when I am making posts.

    If journalists report tips they get on social media without checking them out, it hurts integrity and reputation. Just because something is trending doesn’t make it a fact. Many celebrity death reports have made the rounds on Twitter and then they turn out not to be true.

  5. Twitter began gaining huge momentum while I was in my undergrad studying journalism so it has been interesting to watch how Twitter and other social media sites are changing the way large scale news operations report the news. As social media becomes crucial for journalists and news agencies attempting to be the first to break a story journalists need to work even harder to verify sources and facts because once a story/information is posted on social media and then shared there is no way to stop the sharing of the information even if it is wrong.

    I probably check my social profiles daily except for Twitter which I check multiple times a day. It has become my main source fro news because I like that I can scroll through and basically read headlines and decide if I want to read the entire story.

  6. Jake,

    I do have one or two specific accounts, not so much for different versions of me but more to separate my personal accounts from my working or school ones. I don’t think that you can really present different version of yourself online, they would run into one another sooner or later.

    I don’t think journalistic integrity is going anywhere, it will always depend on the journalist. I think you would be hard pressed to call some of the people reporting news online as journalists. There has to be a separation between what a journalist is and what is someone spewing nonsense online.

  7. Agreed, not that I am in the market for a new job but the readings for this week really highlighted the importance of keeping your profiles up to date and to be mindful of what we are posting on our Facebook, LinkedIn, pages most especially.

    Get ready to start deleting!! I think I am OK.

Leave a Reply

