Google Analytics: Check Yourself before you Search Yourself!

           Martin-Dec-2010

           This week we read about search engine optimization and the ways you can use Google to work for you.  As we discussed earlier in the term, authorship is an important way of making yourself “official” on Google searches, but there are many other things you can do to improve your search engine optimization.  Having a good SEO allows your articles to be read more often as some of the readings discussed.  In fact, one of the articles said that the first link on a Google search receives 33% of the traffic and that number drops to 18% for the second position.  As you can see, this drop off illustrates the point that it is very important to be as highly ranked in a search as possible.

One way to do this is through the use of a Google index or sitemap. I was not previously aware of this before, but in my readings this week, I came to the conclusion that this is a lot like a table of contents for a book.  I can see how this might be helpful for Google in that if your sight is more organized, Google can feel confident giving out your links because they know that they are pointing the user in the right direction.  Further, a sitemap allows you to host videos directly from your site and have Google link the video from your site rather than from YouTube or wherever you got the information.  In fact, many of the skills from this reading discuss the need to make sure that your site is “neat and clean.”  This could be through the use of better titles or resolving any issues that Google finds with your content.  Speaking of titles, they can also be very important and should contain the appropriate keywords that are found using Google analytics before or during the content creation process.

We discussed a few other ways to optimize your search including the way that you label photos on your blog.  This one was particularly interesting to me because I did not think much about the potential traffic associated with a Google image search.  Everyone has made an image search at least once in their lives and what I didn’t realize was how much this could help with engagement to your site.  As one of the articles pointed out, this is definitely an effective tool for creating engagement.  Finally, having an overall understanding of Google analytics can be one of the most basic ways for increasing your SEO.

What keywords would you like to be at the top of the list for?

Have you done anything different to your blog since the readings this week?

What will you try differently going forward?

6 thoughts on “Google Analytics: Check Yourself before you Search Yourself!

  1. Hey Jake,

    Like you, I didn’t realize how much an impact labeling your image makes on your SEO. Who knew something so simple, could do so much! Since this week’s readings, I’ve started optimizing the images on my blog with keywords, that way my content will also pop up in Google Image searches. It’s definitely a technique that I plan to continue into the future.

    • It’s crazy that this was such a “eureka!” moment for me because who doesn’t use Google image search?!? So being relevant on there I would imagine is just as competitive, but a “market” of clicks I bet a lot of people don’t think about. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Jake, I actually used almost all of the tips I wrote about when creating my blog. I was halfway through and realized I should be applying it to my own blog. There are a lot of things you can do throughout your content to help with SEO. Although I can’t use any plugins with WordPress.com I will try to do what I can to optimize my content and to continue to push it through to all of my social channels. I hadn’t really optimized my images or titles with keywords as well as I should have but I plan to work on that.

  3. Hi Jake- After this weeks readings and lecture, I will defiantly optimize keywords and images more! I didn’t really understand how important those were until this weeks lecture and readings.

  4. Hey Jake,
    Like the other ladies who have already commented, I plan on making sure my images are optimized. I may even go back when I have time and add keywords to images on my old blogs, but I surely plan on doing it going forward. I also did not know how important it was to put your keyword phrases at the front of a headline rather than the end. I just thought it was important to have them in somewhere and didn’t know they should be at the front or close to it.

  5. Hi Jake, I went back after this week’s reading and applied all the tips to my blog and website as well. I didn’t realize that labeling each photo of lingerie on my lingerie website (which in retrospect is a huge “duh” moment) could increase my searchability.

Leave a Reply

