Intro to Social Media Week 4 Readings Reaction

Intro to Social Media Week 4 Reading Response

            ImageThis week we began discussing the “new newsfeed:” Twitter.  The website began in 2006 and is the platform that I personally am the most intrigued about.  Our readings for this week gave us helpful tips for engaging with our audience on Twitter and even gave us some advice for starting out our Twitter accounts.  Finally, in an article titled “The Twitter Trap,” we read of possible downfalls to the Twitter generation and contemplated whether this new form of information sharing was overall good for people. 

One of the most prominent pieces of advice from the readings was about responding to any and all tweets that are sent to you.  Even the largest companies in the world can benefit from treating its consumers as individuals and responding to their tweets when possible.  This was a common theme in the readings and companies such as Comcast and General Motors were praised for their ability to use their Twitter accounts in a way that benefitted the consumer and allowed the company to look more personal for its audience, a practice favored by many of the authors we have read and the lectures we have viewed.  Twitter Chat was also discussed as a new way of engaging in dialogue with potential consumers by allowing us to jump right into conversation that could be happening about our brand or about the need that we feel our brand meets. 

An article of particular interest to me was one from Aaron Lee titled, “If I could start Twitter all over again, what would I have done differently?”  In this article, Lee discusses the importance of taking ones time when starting a Twitter and not mindlessly chasing followers.  This was good advice for me as I have started a separate Twitter with the goal of getting followers and have realized that in the early phases of establishing my Twitter, I should focus on my voice and creating solid followers and lists rather than just hoping to get more followers. 

Finally, “The Twitter Trap” asked questions about society and the way we ingest information and whether Twitter has taken away from our ability to retain important information.  In this article, Twitter was actually compared to the printing press on the merits of the way the press took away from the need to memorize as much.  The article pointed out that at one point, even full books were memorized and able to be recited.  Now, with the invention of Twitter and other social media, our attention spans and ability to memorize may have gotten shorter, but we can ingest more information at a time than ever before.  The author questions whether this is a good trade off and I find myself reflecting on this as well.

Do you think this is a good trade off?  Does #TwitterMakeYouStupid?

What piece of advice for a new Tweeter did you find the most helpful?

Have you had a good experience with a large company on social media?

4 thoughts on “Intro to Social Media Week 4 Readings Reaction

  1. Hey Jake,

    Nice post. I thought “The Twitter Trap” was pretty interesting myself. I think the evolution of a society will naturally lose certain skills. It’s just the way things happen. I would disagree with the author that this is social media’s fault. I think email and texting played just as big, if not a larger, role in the affecting our face-to-face interactions. At least social media encourages participation. In fact, social media at its finest is thought provoking and engaging. I don’t believe social media will bring the downfall of our society. Other forms of communication have had much larger impacts and more more negative effects. What do you think?

  2. Love the hashtag does #Twittermakeyoustupid I think it’s a real question in our day and age. Lisa posed a serious question last semester as to whether or not we’re learning to speak/write in 140 characters or less and I think that’s something we need to think about in our style. I know that I tend to limit what I’m posting on Facebook because I know it bleeds over to our Twitter feed. How often do you limit what you’re saying or change your texting style to match something else? Twitter has changed the way we live (even indirectly) because of the communication style.

    Great points on all of it.

  3. Thanks for the comments you two! Sean, I tend to agree with you that the negative impacts of social media are emphasized a little much with some of the ideas from the article and that social media will not be the end of civilization. I tend to think of social media as the evolution of communication and the ease of connectivity is what makes social media great from a communications ability perspective. That being said, there are some interesting side effects to abbreviating our messages that can be discussed. However, in my opinion, this is not so much a problem because the non abbreviated information still exists and can be accessed with a little research. Abbreviation just aids the ADD-ish mentality that has arisen from social media, but that does not mean good in-depth content is not out there. Thanks for the comments!

  4. I consider myself a smart lady and among my friends a quick wit and the queen of one liners. I think people who learn to write in 140 characters can make people more concise. I have already recognized a change in my writing since I really have invested my time in twitter. I don’t think #Twittermakeyoustupid I think it makes you #ADD. You get used to consuming content quicker the longer you spend time on twitter. I think the best piece of advice to new tweeters is to be authentic! Seriously, people who are themselves are more able to drive consumers to their personal brand.

Leave a Reply

